Header Ads Widget

List of Awards in India | Static Gk


Candidates preparing for government exams such as Tnpsc,Upsc,Ssc, and other competitive exams will find the list of Awards in India useful in their preparation .

Question on Awards in India has been frequently asked question in various competitive exams .

So, Here is an List of Awards in India to boost your score in static GK Section .

List of Important Categories for Awards in India:

It can be Divided into five categories which are listed below :

  1. Civilian Awards
  2. Military Awards
  3. Leadership Awards
  4. Literature Awards
  5. National sports Awards

Each Categories with Explanation :

It is being distributed to people for good work in fields such as Art, Literature and Education, Sports, Medicine, Social work, Science and Engineering, Public affairs, Civil service, Trade and Industry, etc.

It can be further categorized into Four Types :

  • Bharat Ratna
  • Padma Vibhushan
  • Padma Bhushan
  • Padma Shri

Bharat Ratna:

It is the highest civilian award given by the Republic of India for the good work in the field of science, Arts, literature, sports etc.

Padma Vibhushan:

 It is the second highest civilian award and is given for exceptional and distinguished service.

Padma Bhushan: 

It is the third highest civilian award of of India given for distinguished service of a high order.

Padma Shri: 

It is the fourth highest civilian award in India is Padma Shri which is awarded for distinguished service.

Military Awards are awarded to defence persons for their extraordinary bravery and courage and to honour them for their distinguished services during times of war and peace.

These are further categorized into Two types:

  • Wartime gallantry awards
  • Peacetime gallantry awards

Wartime gallantry awards consist of :

  • Param Vir Chakra
  • Maha Vir Chakra
  • Vir Chakra

Param Vir Chakra: 

It is the highest military award in India . Before independence Victoria Cross was given by British government but later on Param Vir Chakra replaced it.

Maha Vir Chakra:

 It is the Second highest Military decoration of India, presented to those who show conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy in all three areas that is on land, at sea or in the air.

Vir Chakra: 

The third award in the list Wartime gallantry awards is Vir Chakra. It was replacement of awards before independence like British Distinguished Service Cross (DSC), Military Cross (MC) and Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC).

Peacetime gallantry awards consists of :

  • Ashok Chakra Award
  • Kirti Chakra
  • Shaurya Chakra

Ashok Chakra Award:

It is Equivalent to Param Vir Chakra , it is awarded for showing courageous action or self-sacrifice away from battle field.

Kirti Chakra :

It is Second peacetime gallantry award after Ashok Chakra Award in terms of reputation.

Shaurya Chakra :

It is Third in the list of peacetime gallantry awards.

It can be Further categorized into two types :

  • Gandhi Peace Prize awards
  • Indira Gandhi Prize

Gandhi Peace Prize awards :

The International Gandhi Peace Prize is given away annually by the Indian Government as a tribute to the ideals espoused by Gandhi.

Indira Gandhi Prize :

This award is also known by other names such as Indira Gandhi Peace Prize or the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development.

It is given to those individuals or organizations that have done appreciable efforts in promoting peace at international level.

Literature awards are given to writers, authors and poets for doing great work in writing and also to those who contribute to Indian literature.

Literature awards list consists of :

Jyanpith Award
Sahitya Akademi Award
Sahitya Akademi Fellowship
Bhasha Samman
Translation Awards
Anand Coomarswamy Fellowships
Premchand Fellowship

These national level sports awards are conferred by Ministry of youth affairs and Sports

Sports awards of India are given under four categories :

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna
  • Dronacharya award
  • Arjuna award
  • Dhyan Chand Award

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna :

It is the Highest rank in sports awards category

It is Honoured for their spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports over a period of four years at International level

Dronacharya award :

This award is given to coaches and sports teachers for producing great skilled teams and individual players in various sports.

Arjuna award:

This award is given to those sports persons who have continuously shown performed well for three years at international level.

Dhyan Chand Award :

This sports award is given for lifetime achievement in the memory of Hockey legend Dhyan Chand.


Post a Comment