Header Ads Widget



Candidates preparing for government exams such as UPSC,SSC, and other competitive exams will find the list of RBI Governors useful in their preparation
Here is the complete list of RBI Governors in India being provided.

The Reserve Bank of India was established on April 1, 1935 in accordance with the provisions of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934.

The Central Office of the Reserve Bank was initially established in Calcutta but was permanently moved to Mumbai in 1937. The Central Office is where the Governor sits and where policies are formulated.

Though originally privately owned, since nationalization in 1949, the Reserve Bank is fully owned by the Government of India

The Preamble of the Reserve Bank of India describes the basic functions of the Reserve Bank as:

"to regulate the issue of Bank notes and keeping of reserves with a view to securing monetary stability in India and generally to operate the currency and credit system of the country to its advantage; to have a modern monetary policy framework to meet the challenge of an increasingly complex economy, to maintain price stability while keeping in mind the objective of growth."


Formulates, implements and monitors the monetary policy. Objective: maintaining price stability while keeping in mind the objective of growth.

Prescribes broad parameters of banking operations within which the country's banking and financial system functions.
Objective: maintain public confidence in the system, protect depositors' interest and provide cost-effective banking services to the public.

Manages the Foreign Exchange Management Act, 1999.
Objective: to facilitate external trade and payment and promote orderly development and maintenance of foreign exchange market in India.

Issues and exchanges or destroys currency and coins not fit for circulation.
Objective: to give the public adequate quantity of supplies of currency notes and coins and in good quality.

Performs a wide range of promotional functions to support national objectives.

Banker to the Government: performs merchant banking function for the central and the state governments; also acts as their banker.
Banker to banks: maintains banking accounts of all scheduled banks


RBI Governors Began Ended
Sir Osborne Smith April 1, 1935 June 30, 1937
Sir James Braid Taylor July 1, 1937 February 17, 1943
Sir C.D. Deshmukh August 11, 1943 June 30, 1949
Sir Bengal Rama Rau July 1, 1949 January 14, 1957
K.G. Ambegaonkar January 14, 1957 February 28, 1957
H.V.R Lyengar March 1, 1957 February 28, 1962
P.C Bhattachaiya March 1, 1962 June 30, 1967
L.K. Jha July 1, 1967 May 3, 1970
B.N. Adarkar May 4, 1970 June 15, 1970
S. Jagannathan June 16, 1970 May 19, 1975
N.C. Sen Gupta May 19, 1975 August 19, 1975
K.R. Puri August 20, 1975 May 2, 1977
M. Narasimham May 3, 1977 November 30, 1977
I.G. Patel December 1, 1977 September 15, 1982
Manmohan Singh September 16, 1982 January 14, 1985
Amitav Gosh January 15, 1985 September 4, 1985
R.N. Malhotra February 4, 1985 December 22, 1990
S. Vpnldraramanan December 22, 1990 December 21, 1992
C. Rangarajan December 22, 1992 November 21, 1997
Bimal Jalan November 22, 1997 September 6, 2003
Y.V. Reddy September 6, 2003 September 5, 2008
D. Subbarao September 5, 2008 September 4, 2013
Raghuram G. Raj an September 4, 2013 September 4, 2016
Urjit Ravindra Patel September 4, 2016 December 10,2018
Shaktikanta Das December 11,2018 Incumbent


Get static gk pdf for various competitive exams like UPSC, State PSC, SSC, Bank Exams, FSSAI,RRB,NTPC,NTRO,State level exams,ISRO,IBPS,AAI,DRDO,LIC,IBPS,ESIC,SBI,RBI,CWC,appsc,tspsc,uppsc,kpsc exams

for more static Gk questions visit – tnpscparamount.in

Post a Comment