Header Ads Widget

Indian Prime Ministers

prime ministers

Candidates preparing for government exams such as UPSC,SSC, and other competitive exams will find the Indian Prime ministers list useful in their preparation
Here is the complete list Indian Prime ministers being provided.

The Prime Minister of India is the chief executive of the Government of India.
The Prime Minister is the head of the Council of Ministers.

Article 75 says only that the Prime Minister shall be appointed by the president.

Prime minister recommends persons who can be appointed as ministers by the president. The President can appoint
only those persons as ministers who are recommended by the Prime Minister.

Prime minister advises the President with regard to summoning and proroguing of the sessions of the Parliament.

Prime minister announces government policies on the floor of the House.

Prime minister advises the president with regard to the appointment of important officials like attorney general of India, Comptroller and Auditor General of India, chairman and members of the UPSC, election
commissioners, chairman and members of the finance commission and so on.

Prime minister recommend dissolution of the Lok Sabha to President at anytime.

Complete List of Indian Prime Ministers

S.No Name Period
1 Jawaharlal Nehru 1947-1964
Gulzarilal Nanda ( Acting ) 1984
2 Lal bahadur Shastri 1964-1966
Gulzarilal Nanda ( Acting ) 1966
3 Indira Gandhi 1966-1977
4 Morarji Desai 1977-1979
5 Charan Singh 1979-1980
6 Indira Gandhi 1980-1984
7 Rajiv Gandhi 1984-1989
8 Vishwanath Pratap Singh 1989-1990
9 Chandra Shekar 1990-1991
10 Pamulaparti Venkata Narasimha Rao 1991-1996
11 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 1996
12 Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda 1996-1997
13 Inder Kumar Gujral 1997-1998
14 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 1998-2004
15 Manmohan Singh 2004-2014
16 Narendra Modi 2014- Till now

Happy learning !!!

Get static gk pdf for various competitive exams like UPSC, State PSC, SSC, Bank Exams, FSSAI,RRB,NTPC,NTRO,State level exams,ISRO,IBPS,AAI,DRDO,LIC,IBPS,ESIC,SBI,RBI,CWC,appsc,tspsc,uppsc,kpsc exams

for more static Gk questions visit – tnpscparamount.in

Post a Comment